Well, here we are, another clock change and a sure sign that the warmer weather is just around the corner.

I am one of those people who the clock change affects badly. It’s not so bad in the Autumn, somehow I can figure that one out. But in the spring I get what I can only describe as a form of jet-lag. I blame the animals. I have been feeding animals twice a day for over thirty years, and when the clocks go forward it is something like this……

Oh heck, I overslept…………. well, I didn’t really but the clock thinks I did……………but my body knows it’s half past five “really” ………..but the clock thinks its half past six……….I’m going to be an hour late feeding and milking………no I’m not, the animals still think its half past five too…………but if I get up in time for work tomorrow, the animals are going to think I’m an hour early………..

I proceed to have the same conversation in my head, every morning, for about three weeks. By that time, I have got used to my watch telling the right time again, (I never change it in the autumn) and am almost functioning. In the autumn I don’t have a problem with it. Maybe because it is in the mornings that it affects more? And usually by the evening all I want to do is sleep anyway 🙂

A few things you may not know about British Summer Time

Daylight Saving Time was originally suggested by Benjamin Franklin in 1784, and the idea was floated again by New Zealander George Hudson in 1895. But the idea was ignored until 1907 when Englishman William Willett proposed the idea as a way to get people out of bed to make the most of the sunny mornings. Willett fought against opposition to his scheme until his death in 1915.

The first ever day of BST was 21st May 1916.

In 1916 Germany led the way and, desperate to do anything that might save fuel for the war effort, Britain followed suit.

The Home Office information posters

Because clocks and watches operated differently in those days, and could not be simply “turned back”, the Government had to issue posters telling people how to reset their timepieces to GMT in the autumn.

The Willett memorial

A sundial was erected, as a memorial to Willett, which is set to BST not GMT. He also has a figure in Madame Tussauds.

Double British Summer Time

During WWII Britain introduced “Double British Summer Time”. In the Autumn the clocks did not reset to GMT, and the following spring another hour was added.

British STandard Time

In 1968 Britain experimented with “British Standard Time”. In March, the clocks went forward to BST and stayed there for 3 years. The experiment was a mixed success and BST/GMT were re-introduced

British Summer Time facts

Oh well – I suppose that, like most things in life, the solution is to go and dig my garden, cuddle some goats and rabbits, and know that by the middle of April my body clock will have reset itself.

