One of the strange side effects I have discovered to trying to be self-sufficient is that everyone automatically expects me to be fantastically healthy – and expects never to see a sweet treat pass my lips.

Well…..they’re wrong!

This week’s sweet treat is flapjacks. Flapjacks are good. They are so simple that I can cook them even half-asleep, the only drawback being when I fall asleep while they are in the oven but that’s another tale 😀

One of the great things about flapjacks is that I can enjoy them to my heart’s content, all the while convincing myself 100% (well maybe a little less) that they are health food. Just think……all those oats…..flapjacks are just porridge in disguise right? And if you throw in a handful of nuts, or dried fruits – well – it’s virtually muesli!

My basic recipe for flapjacks

9 oz butter
9 oz castor sugar
6 oz golden syrup
15 oz porridge oats

Anything else you care to add to liven them up – some options are

a teaspoon of cinnamon
nuts – cashews, walnuts or brazils are good
sunflower seeds
dried fruit – raisins, dried apricots, dried strawberries all go down well

Put the butter, sugar and syrup in a large pan and heat until the butter is melted and all the sugar disolved.

Tip – Once the sugar is disolved, now is the best time to add your other ingredients. It is much easier to get them evenly distributed through the mix while it is still liquid.

Stir in the porridge oats, and divide the whole mix between two sandwich tins, or a rectangular baking tray. I like to use loose-bottomed sandwich tins as it makes turning them out easier. But using greaseproof paper would do the job too.

flapjack

Put in the middle of the oven, on gas 4, for 25-30 mins until it turns deep golden around the edges. The mixture will still be very soft in the middle.

flapjacks

Leave until almost cold and then cut into slices. They should come out chewy not cruncy. Eat and enjoy.

