Well, the balcony project is coming along nicely, with the beans growing like, well, beans really 😉

So yesterday we made a visit to the garden centre for a few things.

The most expensive item on the list was 1 dozen strawberry plants for which I paid 85p each “gulp”. I could probably have got them cheaper mail order, but it is getting late to get them established so I went with what was available. I also needed a new bag of compost, having used the last of the old bag planting up the runner beans.

I then had a look at herbs – buying sage, thyme and tarragon although I turned down chives (the plants looked sick) and rosemary (8.50 per plant for something I can grow easily from cuttings).

I then lashed out and bought 4 tomato plants. I have seedlings underway, but they seem to be growing VERY slowly, so I bought 3 cherry tomatoes and 1 trailing tomato which can go in a hanging basket.

My luxury item for the day was a heliotrope plant. I just love this plant for its rich purple flowers and heavenly scent when the sun warms the flowers. So I have a “cherry pie” plant to go on my balcony as well.

So now the apprentice and I have lots of work to do to get them all planted up and happy, although the tomatoes and the heliotrope were all in the greenhouses at the garden centre so they will needing hardening off gently.

What did you do at the weekend?

