On the whole the squashes are developing nicely, and the pumpkin and banana squash plants are nearly ready to be moved out to the garden. They have greened up nicely since being potted on, and are looking good and healthy. I want them in really good condition before they go in the ground, so that they are better able to cope with any slugs, snails, marauding goats, or locusts they may encounter in the big wide world 🙂

pumpkin plants

The summer squashes though, are still struggling! They are still looking yellow, and haven’t totally picked up yet. This is probably just because they were the last of the squashes to be potted up and they haven’t had as much chance to recover. Looking at the picture, you can see that the younger leaves are looking a little greener, although they have a long way to go to catch up to their pumpkin friends. I hope that another good feed of tomato feed today will help them along a bit more 🙂

summer squash

One of them has keeled over and died, I think with stem rot. There’s not a lot I can do about this one, but stem root can be caused by getting the stems too wet, so I think I need to be a little more careful when I am watering them. That and another feed to strengthen them up a bit more should soon put them to rights 🙂

sick squash plant

How are your pumpkins doing?

