At the beginning of January, I placed a sweet potato in compost to try to start some slips ready to grow on in cold frames.

Sweet potato growing slips

Now, one month later, I have a young triffid growing on my windowsill. The potato has sent up some shoots which have grown rather enthusiastically, and it is now time to try to remove them, plant them in their own containers, and wait to see if the potato sends up any more.

Growing sweet potato slips

The only problem it leaves me with is that these shoots are growing rapidly. Most of the shoots are a few inches long, but it has one tentacle that is about 18 inches and growing daily. It is WAY too cold to move them out to the garden, but they aren’t going to be able to stay indoors very much longer – time to put the thinking cap on I think!